country
$20 Bonus + 25% OFF
Securing Higher Grades Costing Your Pocket? Book Your Assignment at The Lowest Price Now!

Editorial Task: Australian Financial Review

tag 0 Download6 Pages / 1,482 Words tag Add in library Click this icon and make it bookmark in your library to refer it later. GOT IT

Question:

Discuss about the Editorial Task for Australian Financial Review.

 

Answer:

Eleven Head Office Involved in Wage Fraud Cover-up

7-Eleven, the largest convenience store chain of Australia, is now presenting itself as one of the biggest and worst cases of systematic wage abuse in the history of a corporate world, tweeted Adele Ferguson (www.afr.com, 2017). The only disturbing factor concerning the franchise chain is nothing, but the exploitation of workers that has been going for many years under everyone’s nose, said Wolter Peeters. However, Rod Clement has given clear explanation of the situation, Stating in this way. “At this franchise chain, wage abuse would stand for about $ 10 million per year, but more specifically in the case of 7-Eleven most of the workers are students on visas and they are in thousands (Lim, Chae & Jeon, 2014). These students are only allowed to work 20 hours a week, according to the visa condition and this make them more vulnerable to wage abuse.”

In the light of this situation, the fair work ombudsman has conducted three different raids and found in the past six years that the situation is getting worse and the students are still facing wage fraud, getting under payment wage (Sivaraman & Turner, 2016). However, in September 2014, it has been found that around 60% of the 20 7-Eleven stores had a payroll issues, which is double the records of 2011 issues. Contributing to this context, Senator Deborah O’Neill at a Senate hearing made a clear statement that apart from conducting raids, there are more to be done, including reviewing of the regulatory structure and beefing up the chain’s power since the fair work and its effectiveness are under inspection on the account of wage abuse especially for workers on student visas (Smith, 2015). In addition to these, Fairfax Media and Four Corners had made a joint investigation on wage fraud practiced by around two-third of the chain stores and found that payroll of each month address massive payroll problems (Tonts, Plummer & Argent, 2014).

The joint media, based on its investigation had described the underpayment, falsification. They explained that after reviewing 83 stores between 13 October 2014 and 9 November 2014, and found around 47 stores had a payroll compliance issues, including falsification of payroll sheets and underpayment of wages. Moreover, the review between April 6 and May 3, around 55% of 97 stores shows payroll compliance issue (Fraser, 2016). With such disappointing practice of franchise stores, 7-Eleven expressed in a statement, stating that “our franchise stores are not worthy of meeting their obligation, which is extremely disappointing for us and we are not going to entertain such action, instead we will take appropriate steps against it”.

7-Eleven promised that they will make their franchise stores pay back the full wage if they are found not paying proper wages, but if still the stores do not follow the instruction, the head office will slap them with a breach notice in more egregious cases (Schaper, 2015). However, Australian Taxation Office reviewed that 7-Eleven has generated EBIT of $ 143 million in 2015 and accounted for the largest company by earnings than any other companies in Australia on ASX.

Some franchise stores on the other hand in their favour commented that “would it be right for us to pay correct wages, even though we are not making enough earnings to at least pay to the head office”. However, the fair work ombudsman extremely condemned this excuse, claiming that some business make such excuses rashly without knowing proper employment system (Brittingham, 2014). Further he also explained that it is very important to bring shadowy aspect of labour market into the light, before the control of the regulators and politicians go out of our hand.

 

Editorial 2: The Australian Newspaper

Dated: 02-09-2015

Article: The buck stops with us: 7-Eleven

The article in “The Australian” has shown different perspective of the 7-Eleven case. Russ Withers, the chairman of 7-Eleven commented that “the bottom line is, we are responsible for whatever had happened, it happened on our watch”. The chairman of the convenience store chain explained the situation with disappointment, where according to him, significant underpayment of wage practice and payroll issue practice were conducted under the watch of management and head office (www.theaustralian.com.au, 2017). However, Russ made a promise to the head office on behalf of all the franchise store chain to its head office, that the franchise store chain is ready to pay any underpaid wages balance. Mr Russ, however, made this comment under the wake of Fairfax and Four Corners media report, where it is specifically mentioned, “majority of the store chain business are still underpaying wages to the workers.”

Mr Russ Withers presented his view of the issue, by saying that “it is quite easy for us to blame the franchisees for their responsibility of recruiting employees or workers (Lim, Chae & Jeon, 2014). Hence, it is no good to say that it is solely the problem of franchisee and not mine”. However, the bottom line is we are responsible for whatever had happened, it happened on our watch. In fact, the former chairman Alan Fels, with his view to the company’s franchise model, tweeted that “we had started with zero and now operating as 620 stores in Australia for 38 years and we still believe the underpayment of wages to the workers is relatively small”. Hence, whatever the majority of franchisees are doing, they are doing the right thing, at least according to me (Manton, 2014). In this context, Mr Russ also said, “this is embarrassing for us, that even though the franchisee stores are involved in such practice and the head office also aware of it, still the head office is not trying to make any mass cover-up yet”. In this aspect as well, the joint media, based on its investigation had described the underpayment, falsification (www.afr.com, 2017). They explained that after reviewing 83 stores between 13 October 2014 and 9 November 2014, and found around 47 stores had a payroll compliance issues, including falsification of payroll sheets and underpayment of wages (Kavanagh & McRae, 2017). The fair work ombudsman also forced one owner of store in Melbourne to deliberately admit the short-changing their staff by $10,000 and doctoring employment records to cut costs.

However, based on the investigation by Australian Taxation Office, the ATO members reviewed that 7-Eleven has generated EBIT of $ 143 million in 2015 and accounted for the largest company by earnings than any other companies in Australia on ASX (Tonts, Plummer & Argent, 2014). Thus, in both the articles the articles, it has been found that it is very important to bring shadowy aspect of labour market into the light, before the control of the regulators and politicians go out of our hand. Moreover, Mr Russ Withers, the chairman of 7-Eleven commented that “the bottom line is, we are responsible for whatever had happened, it happened on our watch” (Sivaraman & Turner, 2016). In addition to these, he also made a promise to the head office on behalf of all the franchise store chain to its head office, that the franchise store chain is ready to pay any underpaid wages balance (Li & Whitworth, 2016).

 

References

7-Eleven: Wage abuse claims puts scrutiny on Fair Work response. (2017). Financial Review. Retrieved on 16 May 2017, from https://www.afr.com/business/retail/fmcg/7eleven-wage-abuse-claims-puts-scrutiny-on-fair-work-response-20150830-gjavxh

Baxendale, R., & Baxendale, R. (2017). The buck stops with us: 7-Eleven. Theaustralian.com.au. Retrieved 16 May 2017, from https://www.theaustralian.com.au/business/companies/the-buck-stops-with-us-says-7eleven-chairman-russ-withers/news-story/c446f2f834f4b72748c630a0944ec6b4

Brittingham, M. (2014). History of the WET and the WET producer rebate. Wine & Viticulture Journal, 29(1), 66.

Fraser, M. (2016). Investigating 7-Eleven: Who are the real bad guys?. Griffith Journal of Law & Human Dignity, 4(2).

Kavanagh, M., & McRae, E. (2017). Employment law: Protecting vulnerable workers amendment to fair work act. Governance Directions, 69(4), 241.

Li, Y. T., & Whitworth, K. (2016). When the State Becomes Part of the Exploitation: Migrants’ Agency within the Institutional Constraints in Australia. International Migration, 54(6), 138-150.

Lim, S., Chae, H., & Jeon, H. (2014). The Effect of Experience Marketing on Brand Attitude and Brand Loyalty of Beauty Salon Franchise Stores. Fashion business, 18(5), 42-55.

Manton, E. (2014). The diverse drivers of relative changes in excise taxes on beer and spirits in Australia, 1902–2012. Drugs: education, prevention and policy, 21(3), 197-204.

Schaper, M. T. (2015). Invited policy paper: Competing in the online marketplace: Contemporary issues for SMEs and their regulators. Small Enterprise Research, 22(1), 69-78.

Sivaraman, G., & Turner, P. (2016). The 7-Eleven wages scandal: The need for law reform. Precedent (Sydney, NSW), (135), 53.

Smith, K. (2015). Unite calls for amnesty for 7-Eleven workers. Green Left Weekly, (1069), 3.

Tonts, M., Plummer, P., & Argent, N. (2014). Path dependence, resilience and the evolution of new rural economies: Perspectives from rural Western Australia. Journal of Rural Studies, 36, 362-375.

OR

Cite This Work

To export a reference to this article please select a referencing stye below:

My Assignment Help. (2018). Editorial Task: Australian Financial Review. Retrieved from https://myassignmenthelp.com/free-samples/editorial-task-australian-financial-review.

"Editorial Task: Australian Financial Review." My Assignment Help, 2018, https://myassignmenthelp.com/free-samples/editorial-task-australian-financial-review.

My Assignment Help (2018) Editorial Task: Australian Financial Review [Online]. Available from: https://myassignmenthelp.com/free-samples/editorial-task-australian-financial-review
[Accessed 05 June 2020].

My Assignment Help. 'Editorial Task: Australian Financial Review' (My Assignment Help, 2018) <https://myassignmenthelp.com/free-samples/editorial-task-australian-financial-review> accessed 05 June 2020.

My Assignment Help. Editorial Task: Australian Financial Review [Internet]. My Assignment Help. 2018 [cited 05 June 2020]. Available from: https://myassignmenthelp.com/free-samples/editorial-task-australian-financial-review.


With time, MyAssignmenthelp.com has become one of the best college essay writing services. Our all rounded services give students the confidence to overcome assignment related issues. Our services are fast enough to meet most urgent deadlines. We are capable of delivering fast essay writing services with the help of our specially designed provisions and writers' teams. Our urgent essay help services guarantee most rapid delivery of assignment solutions. Some of our most popular essay services are application essay help, exploratory essay help, literary review essay help and argumentative essay help.

Latest Management Samples

BUS5SMM Sustainability Management And Marketing For Adventurous Travel Company

Download : 0 | Pages : 12
  • Course Code: BUS5SMM
  • University: La Trobe University
  • Country: Australia

Answer: Introduction:   The report gives an overview of sustainability management and marketing of Intrepid Travels. Intrepid Travel represents the largest small group adventurous travel company of the world offering over 1,500 itineraries in around 120 countries (Intrepidtravel.com 2018). The report therefore begins with a general introduction of the company along with a discussion about its management and organizational structure. T...

Read More arrow

MN502 Security Challenges In Emerging Networks For Software Defined Networking

Download : 0 | Pages : 8

Answer: Security Aspects in Software Defined Networking i) Introduction to SDN Software defined networking or SDN is a typical approach towards the technology of cloud computing, which eventually facilitates the management of networking and also allows excellent configuration of network programmatically [5]. This network configuration is enabled for the improvement of network monitoring and performance. Moreover, SDN helps in addressing the ...

Read More arrow

BSBITU305 Conduct Online Transactions For Extended Validation SSL Certificate

Download : 0 | Pages : 6
  • Course Code: BSBITU305
  • University: Victoria University
  • Country: Australia

Answer: Assessment 2 - Scenario Question 1 After doing some research, the suitable company that can supply the required items though an online purchase is Amazon. It is a global online retailer with offices in Australia so delivery should be cheaper and faster compared to international firms that may deliver from another country/ location. The company’s E-mail address is https://www.amazon.com.au/ref=nav_logo   The home page...

Read More arrow Tags: Australia Denistone East Management Business technology and knowledge management University of New South Wales 

HI5016 Trade Policy Of Australia For Industries And Employment Structure

Download : 0 | Pages : 16
  • Course Code: HI5016
  • University: University Of California
  • Country: United States

Answer: Introduction: In the present scenario Australia has negotiated with a number of trade agreements in order to promote economical development of the country. In recent trends, the wave of trade development is being disrupted by the significant changes in the policies of protectionism (Antràs and Yeaple 2013). In the current state these changes has been considered as the direct consequences responsible for the sudden changes in th...

Read More arrow

MOD003325 Academic And Professional Skills

Download : 0 | Pages : 9
  • Course Code: MOD003325
  • University: Anglia Ruskin University
  • Country: United Kingdom

Answer: Introduction We feel extremely sorry for the loss you have gone through. We are with you in this period of emotional turmoil and bereavement and want to share your grief and suffering. Please provide us the scope to help you with the utmost we can do and please share your concerns. The location that has been selected for the funeral ceremony is the Blackfriars bar that is present on the Queen Vic Street. We have been in continuous di...

Read More arrow
Next
watch

Save Time & improve Grade

Just share Requriment and get customize Solution.

question
We will use e-mail only for:

arrow Communication regarding your orders

arrow To send you invoices, and other billing info

arrow To provide you with information of offers and other benefits

1,330,838

Orders

4.9/5

Overall Rating

5,076

Experts

Our Amazing Features

delivery

On Time Delivery

Our writers make sure that all orders are submitted, prior to the deadline.

work

Plagiarism Free Work

Using reliable plagiarism detection software, Turnitin.com.We only provide customized 100 percent original papers.

time

24 X 7 Live Help

Feel free to contact our assignment writing services any time via phone, email or live chat.

subject

Services For All Subjects

Our writers can provide you professional writing assistance on any subject at any level.

price

Best Price Guarantee

Our best price guarantee ensures that the features we offer cannot be matched by any of the competitors.

Our Experts

Assignment writing guide
student rating student rating student rating student rating student rating 5/5

234 Order Completed

100% Response Time

Samantha Ji

PhD in Chemistry with Specialization in Organic

Singapore, Singapore

Hire Me
Assignment writing guide
student rating student rating student rating student rating student rating 5/5

2109 Order Completed

99% Response Time

Emma Zhong

Ph.D in Project Management with Specialization in Project Communications Management

Singapore, Singapore

Hire Me
Assignment writing guide
student rating student rating student rating student rating student rating 5/5

610 Order Completed

100% Response Time

Cheryl Zhao

PhD in Statistics

Singapore, Singapore

Hire Me
Assignment writing guide
student rating student rating student rating student rating student rating 4/5

3076 Order Completed

99% Response Time

Emily Wei

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D) in Civil Engineering

Singapore, Singapore

Hire Me

FREE Tools

plagiarism

Plagiarism Checker

Get all your documents checked for plagiarism or duplicacy with us.

essay

Essay Typer

Get different kinds of essays typed in minutes with clicks.

edit

GPA Calculator

Calculate your semester grades and cumulative GPa with our GPA Calculator.

referencing

Chemical Equation Balancer

Balance any chemical equation in minutes just by entering the formula.

calculator

Word Counter & Page Calculator

Calculate the number of words and number of pages of all your academic documents.

Refer Just 5 Friends to Earn More than $2000

Check your estimated earning as per your ability

1

1

1

Your Approx Earning

Live Review

Our Mission Client Satisfaction

Thank you for your services . I will come back to you again for sure :) Al so I will recommend you to other students as well

flag

User Id: 439559 - 05 Jun 2020

Australia

student rating student rating student rating student rating student rating

I really want to thank you for your help. You did the job how I expect. I highly recommend to my friends and co-workers.

flag

User Id: 286108 - 05 Jun 2020

Australia

student rating student rating student rating student rating student rating

Presentation had a great layout and design, colors were visually engaging and the charts provide a large volume of information in an accessible format.

flag

User Id: 413864 - 05 Jun 2020

Australia

student rating student rating student rating student rating student rating

This is my go-to with homework help....I am so happy with the results! I got an "A" again!!!!!

flag

User Id: 435720 - 05 Jun 2020

Australia

student rating student rating student rating student rating student rating
callback request mobile
Have any Query?